7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2010 12:30 PM by NewFlasherFromKS

Language experts: Port Java Code to AS3?

NewFlasherFromKS

Hello out there,

I have been asked whether it would be feasable to translate Java code to AS3. This is a bit difficult since I am not really an expert in Java and only a beginner wrt AS3. Looking at some code samples it seems doable (at least in principle), but of course there might be hidden gotchas lurking. Hence:

- Are there Java features which do not have an equivalent in AS3?

- Does AS3 have prerequisites which do not exist in Java?

- Other aspects to consider?

Any comment or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Best regards

H.

• 1. Re: Language experts: Port Java Code to AS3?
          Stefan Horochovec Level 2

Hello, nice to meet you!

Your objective if create something to translate java code to action script? Well, i work in a project and development a software to translate, but the software dont work to screens, just work for models.

Why? Because the concept of this tecnologies is diferent.

• 2. Re: Language experts: Port Java Code to AS3?
            Sebastien V. Level 3

A few things that are available in Java but not in AS3 :

- Abstract classes and methods

- Methods overload (including multiple constructors)

- Private constructors (for singletons for instance)

There's probably more, but this shows that the translation might not be as simple as it seems... Even if there are known workarounds for those lacks in AS3.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Language experts: Port Java Code to AS3?
              pauland Level 4

Don't forget the class libraries are different..

I think the converter would be quite an undertaking. Adobe did make a C++ to Actionscript conversion, but I'm not sure it ever made prime time. If I remember they were able to run Quake without sound.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Language experts: Port Java Code to AS3?
                Sebastien V. Level 3