9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2010 6:46 AM by Metal Artist

Use of a capture board in Premiere Pro CS4

Metal Artist

For several years I have been using Premiere Pro 1.5 with a Canopus Storm 2 capture card and drivers.  It has been working fine for me.  Actually I have been doing event video for about twenty years and have gone through a lot of Premiere progams.  I went from VHS to S-VHS and then into Mini DV.  I don't think I will be going to HD.  However, like life, we need to keep up with some of the changes.  So I have been considering upgrading to Premiere Pro CS4.  I was told that Canopus is no longer working with Adobe and that now it is Grass Valley and they have their own editing software.  They no longer want to let the user of their products use Adobe products.  If this is so, then what type of capture card is working with Premiere Pro CS4?  And what is the cost for my changing my system?  At least a ball park figure.  I just had a new OS put into my video editing computer and right now everything is screwed up.  The Adobe Premiere Pro and Canopus seem to be working okay, but I am not getting anything out from my computer to my editing monitor and sound mixer.  I worked all week on it and to no avail.  For years I did event video and put out some fantastic stuff, now I just want to do some informational videos and nothing is working right.  I am open for suggestions.

• 1. Re: Use of a capture board in Premiere Pro CS4
          shooternz Level 6

You dont need a "capture board" in PPro. (especially if you are sticking with DV)

Best thing I ever did was dump the Matrox cards in CS2 and subsequently.

• 2. Re: Use of a capture board in Premiere Pro CS4
            Harm Millaard Level 7