9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2010 6:59 AM by Szalam

Making a moving/running backround

tstert

Hey guys, I am a beginner in Adobe After Effects, and I just finished my first intro for all my videos. However, my background just sits there. Is there any way to make the dots move like a conveyor belt moving towards the back?

here is my background

Thanks,
      TsterT

• 1. Re: Making a moving/running backround
          Chas Naylor Level 1

Gonna need to know more about how it was built to help.

Is it a single, still frame?

• 2. Re: Making a moving/running backround
            tstert Level 1

Yeah, it's just a flat image. I found out how to make it move, but it moves the whole image, while I want the image to stay the same, but the dots look like they're moving.

• 3. Re: Making a moving/running backround
              Chas Naylor Level 1

Yeah there's not just a whole lot you can do once it is rendered like that and flattened.

There are a number of things you could to to try and recreate a background like that and then animate it, but the expectation that you can take that still image and get the animation you are looking for is a false one.

My advice?  Learn more about what AE can and can't do, and then design accordingly

• 4. Re: Making a moving/running backround
                tstert Level 1

cool, sounds good. Do you think it's a lot easier to do in premiere? If it is even possible in it. Not to good with all this video stuff

• 5. Re: Making a moving/running backround
                  Chas Naylor Level 1

Absolutely not on the premiere tip.  AE is your app, you just need to work with it more

• 6. Re: Making a moving/running backround
                    tstert Level 1

Alright thanks, but can you lead me in the direction I need to go? I've been messing with some effects, but nothing that I want so far.

Am I in the right area?

• 7. Re: Making a moving/running backround
                      Chas Naylor Level 1