5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2010 10:23 AM by heavyboots

Cannot access local files after converting from FLASH to AIR

Philip Hozier

HI,

This is my first attempt at making a desktop AIR application using FLASH. My problem is that i can access XML files from the local hard drive when developing in FLASH,  but when i publish it in AIR and install the  app it is unable to find the files on the local harddrive.

I'm using code like:

var whichfile:String = "myfile.xml"

var file:File = new File();

file = File.applicationDirectory.resolvePath(whichfile);

or

file.url = "app:/"+whichfile;

whith the myfile.xml sitting right next to the application.

Anybody with any thoughts why this would happen.I don't believe it's a sandbox issue as the files are never being downloaded at anypoint or from another domain.

Am i making a "noob mistake"?

Many thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Cannot access local files after converting from FLASH to AIR
          heavyboots Level 2

If it works when you're running from Flash but not from the installed app, my first impulse is to suspect some sort of permissions issues are involved.

What if you change the directory you're trying to access it in to the documentsDirectory instead?

• 2. Re: Cannot access local files after converting from FLASH to AIR
            Philip Hozier Level 1

I've tried using the code for the desktop instead, with the file it wants to access on the desktop too without any success.

I also tried "including" the files within the Air Application settings when publishing to AIR. The application can then see the files and work. But i can't change the files because they're within the application.

Is there some sort of code for permissions i need to add to allow access outside the application so i can read external files/folders?

• 3. Re: Cannot access local files after converting from FLASH to AIR
              heavyboots Level 2