7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2010 1:55 PM by rick@cat

Separating mxml files for a large application

Sohail1u

Hi,

I am new to flex. Plz tell me can we have separate mxml files for a very large application? If no, then how is it possible to write all the pages in a single mxml file. It would be hard to develop and maintain the application if the application is very big consisting of say 300 screens and we are stuffing all the views(for 300 screen) in a single mxml file. Can anyone explain please?

• 1. Re: Separating mxml files for a large application
          msakrejda Level 4

Yes, you can have separate files and reuse them as components (typically, these are called your views or pages). You can use them anywhere you use the standard Flex components you extend (the ones in the root of your MXML component definition).

• 2. Re: Separating mxml files for a large application
            rick@cat

I struggled with this when I started so I thought I pay-it-forward a bit. Here's an example of the design we use. We have about 25 "pages" (modules) where each module contains it's own script and also links to generic scripts and functions. The modules are loaded using the displayModule function below by passing in the xxx.swf file you want to load. In our case, we using a menubar and pass the values into displayModule.

Open a new project and save this as index.mxml

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
            <mx:Application
                xmlns:mx="http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml"
                layout="absolute"
                creationComplete="displayModule('test.swf')">
                <mx:Script>
                    <![CDATA[
                    import mx.controls.Alert;
                    import mx.events.ModuleEvent;
                    import mx.modules.ModuleManager;
                    // load external module
                    public function displayModule(s:String):void {
                        contentArea.url = s;