15 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2010 2:22 PM by the_wine_snob

importing problems and editing question

lily316

Ok I have two questions. My first is I have an avi video that i am trying to edit. Every time that i import it the audio come out fine but the video portion seems to be stuck. It will jump around for a few scenes and then land on on and it will stay there for the rest of the video. I have tried several things to fix this.  The one thing that seemed to work some was i exorted  from movie maker onto my desktop. It did fix it to an extent but at several points throughout the movie it will get stuck for a few seconds and then catch back up. any tips on what i am doing wrong?

My second question probably seems dumb but i am new to video editing. The video is very dark. I know the lighting can only be fixed to a certian point and it will start to be pixilated. I have two objects in the video that I need to know the placement of when the video goes outside into the dark. I dont need definition in the video i just need to know where these objects are at any given point ( the objects are moving). I have edited it to a point that i can somewhat see the objects. Is there a way to draw a border around these objects and be able to follow them throughout the entirity of the video. Thank you for all your help.

Jenn

• 1. Re: importing problems and editing question
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Some suggestions and answer at least the 16 questions at the end of the Wiki article.

• 2. Re: importing problems and editing question
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What Harm said... with the added thought that AVI is only a file wrapper... use GSPOT as mentioned in the troubleshooting link to determine the CODEC that is contained inside that avi file

My GUESS is that it will be xvid/divx... which are NOT edit formats, they are output view formats

• 3. Re: importing problems and editing question
              Matt Petersen Level 3