26 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2010 10:40 AM by StudentsofShiloh

interactive slideshow help?

WillV2Met Level 1

Hi,

First-time poster here. Does anyone know where I can find a tutorial or any instructions for doing an interactive slideshow in Flash? I'm
      looking to do something with numbered controls like this link I've provided:

www.starline.com

I'm new to Flash and have looked all over the web and even called Adobe Technical Support, but have had no success. If anyone can point me in the right direction for finding an online tutorial I'd REALLY appreciate it!

• 1. Re: interactive slideshow help?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

That particular piece is likely no more than a timeline-based movie where you transition from one image to the next, and the buttons simply move you to the transition-in of their associated images.  I say this because when you click a button, the image it leads to shows the image transitioning from the image physically before it rather than from the image you were at... (click button 2 while it's at 4 and you'll see image 2 transition from image 1).

Doing timeline transitions is basic Flash so you're not likely to find any tutorials dedicated to the process... Though you may find something at lynda.com (I can't say because I've never subscribed).

There are actionscript -based design of this nature, which would transition properly, from where you are to where you're going, but I have never seen any tutorials for those style designs.  I have created a couple from scratch, but using what I know, not any tutorial.

Someone else may come along with better info to offer, but as far as I know, there's no readily/freely available tutorials for such a piece.

• 2. Re: interactive slideshow help?
            waterdad568 Level 3