19 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2010 7:28 AM by the_wine_snob

Problem with Monitor box on PRE 8

Peg Purser

I am having a problem with getting my video to display in the monitor box.  I have spent a couple of hours with tech support, have updated my NVIDIA driver though the program has never crashed, have removed all other video-related programs, have removed and reinstalled PRE 8.  The result is that the program seems to be doing okay except for showing the clips in the monitor.  If I scrub the pink bar under it in Timeline or scrub the start line in sceneline, it shows, but when I hit play, all I get is the audio (which is attached to the video file, not a separate audio I imported).  What am I doing wrong or not doing?  It worked in PRE 7, but I am a real novice and have about a total of 2 hours of experience in Premiere Elements.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

• 1. Re: Problem with Monitor box on PRE 8
          nealeh Level 5

What was the video recorded on and how did you get it on your PC?

Cheers,
          --
          Neale
          Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: Problem with Monitor box on PRE 8
            the_wine_snob Level 9
            program seems to be doing okay except for showing the clips in the monitor.  If I scrub the pink bar under it in Timeline or scrub the start line in sceneline, it shows, but when I hit play, all I get is the audio (which is attached to the video file, not a separate audio I imported).

Along with the very important answer to Neale's question on the full details of the source media, is this the "pink bar?"

Render_Timeline.jpg

Is so, that indicates that your footage needs to be Rendered for smooth playback. This is done via the Enter key. It only affects playback, and is only used for that.

Depending on the answer to Neale's question, there might be other suggestions forthcoming.

Good luck, and hope that this helps.

Hunt