26 Replies Latest reply on Apr 22, 2010 11:49 PM by derpuma-kl

RAID for Windows 7 Premiere Pro CS4

NEIL MYERS

I have spent a few days reading all the historical posts on whether to RAID or not for PP CS4.  As a newbie on this forum is I am struck by the wealth on information, and especially by the amazing posts by Mr. Millaard.  I especially found this post helpful.  In that post Mr. Millaard says:

"If you only have 3 or 4 disks in total, forget about RAID"

I would like to better understand this philosophy.  I should probably ask him directly, but I don't have his email address and besides, this way others can learn as well.

In my case I am limited to 4 drives because of space limitations inside the case.  I plan to have one drive for the OS (and for my other documents ... Word, Excel, etc.).  That leaves 3 drives for Premiere Pro.

I am not worried about losing drives.  This is not me being cavalier ... just my experience.  I have been using computers for 30 years (my first computer was an Imsai 8080 with paddles on the front!) and have only ever lost one hard disk.  I back up every night religiously, and archive on a regular basis offsite.  My opinion is that my exposure is very small.  Based on those stats my exposure is that I *might* lose a half days work every 30 years.

So, my plan is RAID 0 (yes, I know, the "band aid of RAID").  That said, a 3 drive RAID 0 system should be roughly 2 to 2.5 times faster than non RAID.  It has the additional advantage of being pretty easy to manage and more efficient because it is just one logical volume.

Would operating as 3 seperate drives really be faster?  I am not trying to challenge that assumption as much as understand it.  My goal is speed, so it is in my interest to understand how to achieve the best performance.

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: RAID for Windows 7 Premiere Pro CS4
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Myers CPR wrote:

Would operating as 3 seperate drives really be faster?  .