8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2010 9:46 AM by JETalmage

Illustrator files in Dreamweaver

aangle1823

Can you create a web page/templete inside Illustrator and import/open in Dreamweaver to use as the graphics for the web page you are creating in Dreamweaver?

• 1. Re: Illustrator files in Dreamweaver
          mhtruflo Level 1

The way I've done this is go File > Save for Web and Devices - this enables you see how long they take to load up, and make and required changes to the format / resolution etc if you want that to be quicker.  (click the 2-up or 4-up tab to see 'before' and 'after')

You then open up dreamweaver and simply drag the file in where you want it.  If you've sliced up your image, I make boxes in my table of exactly the same size and position and drag each sliced bit in separately (should create a folder wherever you've saved it called 'images' which contains each slice).

Hope that helps, but I am a beginner myself.

• 2. Re: Illustrator files in Dreamweaver
            aangle1823 Level 1

Thank you very much, that is helpful and kind of what I thought.  You are probably not a new as I am.  One last question if you don't mind, what exaclty are slices, why and how do you do this?

• 3. Re: Illustrator files in Dreamweaver
              aangle1823 Level 1

Thank you very much, that is helpful and kind of what I thought.  You are probably not a new as I am.  One last question if you don't mind, what exaclty are slices, why and how do you do this?

Thanks,

Allen

• 4. Re: Illustrator files in Dreamweaver
                mhtruflo Level 1

Hi Allen,

Seriously, I probably don't know that much more than you at all!!  Just started this about a week or so ago and finding there's lots to know - great to be learning it though.