3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2017 2:38 PM by Dylan32609

Control frames with mouse x coordinates

magortdsfg

Hi,

I will try to rewrite an earlier question to be more precise:

I want to take a folder with 20 pictures, in some way convert them into a movie. And then apply so that I can navigate the frames one by one in the movieclip by moving the mouse right and left  (move mouse left - navigate backwards frame by frame, move mouse right - navigate forward frame by frame).

Anyone knows a good tutorial for this? Or maybe some tips to get started?  I'm pretty new to Flash CS3.

Thanks,

MH

• 1. Re: Control frames with mouse x coordinates
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't know that there will be a good tutorial for this, if any, mainly because as described, it may not be a desirable means of controlling a movieclip's timeline.  While the "in some way convert them into a movie" is your call, assuming that movie will occupy a timeline, the controlling of frames by moving the mouse may need a little more thought/criteria resolution.

If the desired control is to merely make it such that moving the mouse left or right changes it one frame for each movement, then you can use a variable that keeps track of the mouseX value (where the mouse was) and a MOUSE_MOVE listener to trigger a function that tests where it is.  If the new mouseX value is greater than the stored value, the mouse moved right, so you advance one frame in the movie's timeline.

The thing with this approach is that you really want to wait for the mouse to stop moving before you process a command to move, or somehow otherwise build in some stalling, otherwise one movement could end up moving several frames of the movie.  Also, one movement could limit how much space you have left to continue moving--running out of room to move....  You would need to sneak around to the opposite end of the stage at some point in order to keep moving in one direction.