8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2010 6:07 PM by ISTMAN

Premiere corrupted the audio track of XDCAM EX

ISTMAN

I am very new to Premiere.  I received a file from a friend who wants me to convert the video to NTSC DV widescreen.  I imported the MP4 file and added it to the timeline.  I was able to convert fine with exception to an aspect ratio issue.  So, I decided to try again.  Much to my surprise I find the audio track is corrupt.  The first part of the track is fine except with occassional pops & cracks, then after about 10 minutes the entire audio track turns to peaked white noise?  I checked the modify date of the source file and sure enough it has changed.  I did not tell Premiere to overwrite anything and thought it woudl not alter source files.  How can this be?  What can I do?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Premiere corrupted the audio track of XDCAM EX
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Import the complete BPAV directory.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Premiere corrupted the audio track of XDCAM EX
            ISTMAN Level 1

Okay, I just did.  All it seemed to do is import all of the files at once and listed a bunch of unsupported files.

The audio tracks are still corrupt.

• 3. Re: Premiere corrupted the audio track of XDCAM EX
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Did you allow time for conforming and creation of peak files?

• 4. Re: Premiere corrupted the audio track of XDCAM EX
                sync2rhythm Level 1

Normally if an XDCam EX clip has not yet finished Conforming the audio will drop out. I've never heard of or seen this 'White Noise' thing happening.

Using Sony's XDCam EX Clip Browser - point to the BPAV folder and see if the clip(s) play correctly.

If so, you can try to export from the XDCam EX Clip Browser a clip for use in an NLE.

Also, VLCPlayer works for me to play the .mp4 file.

Either of these apps should allow you to see if it's just a Premiere thing or truly a Media thing.

1 person found this helpful