7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2010 8:48 PM by the_wine_snob

Trouble converting 720p to 720x480

ISTMAN

Hello everyone.  I am very new to Premiere Pro and am trying to convert video shot at 720p in XDCAM EX format to NTSC 720x480 in DV widescreen format.  The video converts fine and looks great with exception to two vertical black lines on both sides of the video.  I see aspect ratio between the two videos are different and can not seem to get the correct settings to correct this.  I have tried zooming in as little as possible but when I do the video loses detail.  Any ideas where I am going wrong?

Thank you,

ISTMAN

• 1. Re: Trouble converting 720p to 720x480
          Harm Millaard Level 7

You are converting from square pixels to NTSC PAR.

• 2. Re: Trouble converting 720p to 720x480
            ISTMAN Level 1

Okay, thanks for the quick response.  Upon my brief google search of square pixels and PAR I can somewhat understand this.  However, I'm sure this issue must have been dealt with before.  Any suggestions on how to correct?  I would think part of the bottom and top of the frame would be cropped to allow the horizontal to encompass the entire frame.  Am I on the right track?  This is what I did when encoding with Adobe Media Encoder but again it just seemed to lower the detail drastically when compared to not cropping/zooming.

• 3. Re: Trouble converting 720p to 720x480
              Colin Brougham Level 6

Yep, you need to crop the top and bottom of the frame. Should be 8 pixels/lines off of both the top and bottom.

• 4. Re: Trouble converting 720p to 720x480
                ISTMAN Level 1