19 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2010 4:23 PM by PaulieDC

Problems With Video From a Still Camera

Mitchell Small Level 1

I am new to Premier Pro CS4, so this may just be a simple newbie thing . . .

I have a series of videos taken with a Nikon Coolpix series non-video camera.These are all in an AVI format. Premiere recognizes the video, no problem, and the Info tab in Media browser tells me that the file is 30 fps with a frame size of 640 x 480 (1.0). I presume this last number means square pixels.

When I try to view the video from within Premiere, the audio track is fine, but the video stays static for a while, then jumps a few frames and stays static again.

I thought this was frame rate problem, so I payed closer attention to settings in creating the project. So far, nothing has made a difference.
      Is there a way to overcome this problem? Since I don't have a video camera (yet) but do have lots of these type of AVI files, I'd like to be able to do something with them in Premiere.

• 1. Re: Problems With Video From a Still Camera
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Run one of those AVI's through the free utility, G-Spot. They are probably MJPEG. You will need to install either the Morgan, or the MainConcept MJPEG CODEC to use these files. If they are something else, please post a screen-cap of G-Spot.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Problems With Video From a Still Camera
            the_wine_snob Level 9

This ARTICLE will give you more background on "wrappers," like AVI, MPEG, WMV, MOV, etc.

Good luck, and hope that this helps,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Problems With Video From a Still Camera
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Here are the links to the Morgan and to the MainConcept CODEC's.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: Problems With Video From a Still Camera
                Mitchell Small Level 1