7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2010 6:22 PM by Harry Kunz

I cannot "capture" the fullScreen display state

Guermantes

Hi,

When trying to get my head around another problem I have with altering content depending on whether the displayState is normal or fullScreen, I tried to set up a feedback/debug box that would send me messages about the displayState. I created a textbox with dynamic text and gave it a variable name, and then wrote a little AS2 tidbit as follows:

if (Stage["displayState"]="normal") {
          textbox = ("you're in normal mode");
      } else {
          textbox = ("you're in fullscreen mode");
      }

When I start the movie and am in normal mode then I get the correct message but when I hit a button to toggle true fullscreen on then the normal message stays on screen.

Obviously I am new to all this, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: I cannot "capture" the fullScreen display state
          Harry Kunz Level 4

Where did you place the code to turn full screen on? Why not place the text assignment there?

mcMyButton.onPress = function()

{

Stage["displayState"] = "fullScreen";

myTextField.text = "you're in fullscreen mode";

}

By the way textbox should be textbox.text

• 2. Re: I cannot "capture" the fullScreen display state
            Guermantes Level 1

Hi, thanks for your answer. It cleared away some clouds for me.

I think my problem is that I don't understand how actionscript is parsed by the Flashplayer engine. I had placed my if-statement at the bottom of all AS-code, on its own - and as my Flash movie only has one frame and that is the location of all the AS - I thought that the movie would be looping this frame over and over and thus the AS would be parsed over and over. Hence, putting the if-statement at the bottom I thought it would be continually evaluated and sending the correct value to my textbox depending on the displayState.