1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 24, 2007 3:52 PM by Senor_Roberto

Programmactic Access DataGrid Rows and Columns

JehMus
      Hello,

I am new to ActionScript. Can you tell me how can I access the rows and columns of a data grid?

What I want to do is that when the application load, I will populate the datagrid with the Xml returned from the webservice. After that, webservice will be called periodically (using timer) and the information in the datagrid needs to be updated. The cells which are updated need to be highlighted.

The datagrid actually contains the stock market data (symbol name and its other attributes). So once the datagrid has been populated on application creation, it contains all the symbols in the market. After that, only attributes of the symbols will change, like price, volume etc. What I want is that once the datagrid is populated, i can access the row by using the value of symbol code and then update the appropriate columns of that symbol. (Xml from next time will contain only symbols whose values change from last time).

Below is the code that I have written so far.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute"
      creationComplete="OnAppCreationComplete()" width="100%" height="100%">

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      import mx.rpc.events.ResultEvent;

private var count:uint = 0;
      private var messageFramXmlList:XMLList;
      private var marketSnapshotTimer:Timer = new Timer(1000);

private function OnAppCreationComplete() : void
      {
      this.ajaxServiceInvokerProxy.addEventListener(ResultEvent.RESULT, this.OnWebServiceResultArrived);
      this.ajaxServiceInvokerProxy.InvokeService.send();

this.marketSnapshotTimer.addEventListener(TimerEvent.TIMER, this.OnSnapshotTimerTick);
      this.marketSnapshotTimer.start();
      }

private function OnWebServiceResultArrived(event:ResultEvent) : void
      {
      var marketSnapshotXml:XML = new XML(event.result);