10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 28, 2010 10:22 AM by nealeh

MKVs on Premiere?

Tokonatsu

I'm interested in making my first music video using this program, and the files that I'd like to use are softsub mkvs.  Unfortunately though, it looks like they aren't a supported file type.  I'm really new to this program and I was wondering if there is anything I can do to get them to work on it, like maybe a extra download?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: MKVs on Premiere?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Going back about a year, there were some threads on the PrPro forum on MKV files. They rambled along with some people questioning the use of MKV's, and you can pass over that. Near the end, or the end as I recall it, on one, one of the engineers from the software group that developed MKV's weighed in. As I recall, he worked with the OP to develop a workflow. Now, IIRC, the OP needed to Export to that format, not ingest it, but there might be some utilities mentioned, that would be useful.

Here is one of those ARTICLES, but I think that there might be more.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: MKVs on Premiere?
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Here is another THREAD.

Hope that something helps. Also note, these articles are for PrPro, so they might have no relevance to PrE. I do not know about that.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: MKVs on Premiere?
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Not sure if you have been to the Matroska Site, but might be useful.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: MKVs on Premiere?
                Tokonatsu Level 1

Thank you very much for such a quick reply, I really appreciate it!

It looks like this is a much hotter issue than I had thought, sorry to bring up what looked like some bad memories for you...

After reading through and sorting out all that was going on in those two threads you linked, I found a reply that mentioned a download at http://www.smlabs.net/tsmuxer_en.html