18 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2010 9:51 AM by VR Foxman

CS4 Should I Stay or should I Go ?

VR Foxman

I am having a difficult time to decide if I should stay with Dreamweaver as my WYSIWYG editor for web development.

I am still quite new to the whole Dynamic website development but am well experienced in Visual Basic

I have been using Dreamweaver MX (I know its dated) and learning it from a old book I had on DW Mx

I have discovered that ASP is dead or on its way out and ASP.NET is quickly becoming the new standerd for back end web development logic and bowser indepentent websites. Sooo.....

My Problem is this:

I recently found out that CS4 as dropped ASP.NET all together (for the most part) and that CS3 only has ASP.NET 1.1 support. I really like the Dreamweaver IDE because it is very nice for doing front end design and easy too. However I am not going to switch to PHP or JAVA stuff for back end dev I know and like .NET enviroment (somewhat)  and wish to stay with that technology so am I better off droping Dreamweaver all together and going with MS Visual Studio or MS Expression or is there a way that I can keep Dreamweaver (which I would like) and still be able to do the ASP.NET stuff in a different program and than just add it to my Dreamweaver stuff when its ready. I don't know if Dreamweaver will allow you to marry stuff done in ASP.NET with other software to stuff developed in Dreamweaver or not and even if it does I am unsure this is practical perhaps I am better off just dumping Dreamweaver.

Soo.... Should I stay or should I go ?

VR Foxman

• 1. Re: CS4 Should I Stay or should I Go ?
          John Waller Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you're using ASP.NET, I think you're better off using Microsoft Expression Web.

• 2. Re: CS4 Should I Stay or should I Go ?
            Chameleon81

I agree with Jony. It is cheaper as well.

• 3. Re: CS4 Should I Stay or should I Go ?
              M.R.Biesheuvel Level 3