6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2010 1:55 AM by Harm Millaard

Shot portrait, want it landscape

diana danski

Premiere Pro CS4: I'm totally new to Premiere (though not to other CS4 apps). I shot some video for a family history in portrait but need it to be landscape. How can I do this? Thanks!

• 1. Re: Shot portrait, want it landscape
          Curt Wrigley Level 4

You could zoom in with the scale function in Motion settings until the portait video fills the screen; but zooming a lot will give you fuzzy video.

You could use it ilie a PIP and put info or captions beside it.

It depends on what you want the project to look like.  Can you give us  some more info?

• 2. Re: Shot portrait, want it landscape
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

When you say that you "shot in portrait," are you talking about video, or stills used to produce a video?

Curt has given you some options for video, but if still, used in video, there are some other options.

I'll wait for your response, prior to offering some other suggestions, as what you have, and what you want, will dictate the way to handle the images.

Good luck, and let us know exactly what you have,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Shot portrait, want it landscape
              shooternz Level 6

Use Motion Effect to Rotate and scale to zoom out to fit the video image into the landscape frame.

You will need to deal with the black space on each side.

There are many ways to do this.  ( ask)

BTW - we are going to see more of this due to still cameras being used as Video cameras.  ( I have always hated still cameras used in Portrait mode anyway but for video... thats the giddy limit for me!)

• 4. Re: Shot portrait, want it landscape
                the_wine_snob Level 9