19 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2010 8:01 AM by clough shelton

unknown recorder error at 3:51

clough shelton

I am getting the "unknown recorder error" while capturing DV video, from Mini DV tapes, using premiere Pro CS four and CS three. It occurs exactly at three minutes and 51 seconds of captured video.

It occurs consistently on three different computers, all of which are Intel multi-processor machines with 7200 rpm HD or SSD. Two machines run Windows 7 and one machine runs XP. This occurs with two different mini DV tape decks, JVC HR -- DVS 3U and Sony HVR -- M15 AU. I've tried multiple tapes and this error  still happens consistently.

I'm logged on as an administrator, I've tried disabling the startup items, and I've changed the affinity settings for premiere Pro. I can capture video using Windows Live Movie Maker without difficulty.

Thanks for any help he can get me.

• 1. Re: unknown recorder error at 3:51
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Try whether you can replicate this problem when using Scenalyzer to capture.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: unknown recorder error at 3:51
            clough shelton Level 1

Thank you for your response.

The trial Scenalyzer software works fine and does not  get the recorder error. I have captured more than 9 minutes now and it continues to work with out a glitch.

Clough

• 3. Re: unknown recorder error at 3:51
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Apart from the fact that I prefer Scenalyzer over PR for capture, this implies that there is something wrong with PR. If you have no other problems with PR you can leave it at that, but otherwise a repair install may help you.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: unknown recorder error at 3:51
                clough shelton Level 1

Harm,

Thank you for your recent suggestions. Unfortunately, the same recorder error is occurring at three minutes and 51 seconds.