3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2010 10:38 AM by Steven.Madwin

How to use javascript to auto fill a signature

kanza17

Hello,

I am new to Adobe Acrobat Pro 9.  I have scanned a paper form/document that originally  had various data lines to be written on using an ink pen.  I saved the scanned PDF as an Acrobat 9 PDF.  I have added various pertinent text fields and checkboxs to PDF form and saved it with appropriate extended setting to allow end-user to type on PDF and save a copy.  At the bottom form there is a name/signature text field for end-user name to be typed and a calendar text date when name/signature text field is entered .

I need to send this PDF form to various end-users using (Groupwise/Novell) email to have them sign or type their name and date at bottom of form.  Is there a way that Adobe Acrobat 9/PDF will recognize the email sender and allow the name/signature field to automatically fill-in signature/name textbox.  Are there tools like javascript, etc. that will help me accomplish this task?

I don't know where to begin. I am a newbie.  Please help!

• 1. Re: How to use javascript to auto fill a signature
          Steven.Madwin Adobe Employee

There is no practical method to automate the signing via a JavaScript call associated with a button. The problem is you would need to know the name and location of the digital ID file for each signer, and unless you are working in a system where uniformity is enforced with an iron will, that's a bit of a stretch.

You could use seed value to ensure the signer of the signature field is a specific individual (or an individual from a select group), but you would have to have the public key certificate for each individual and I have the feeling (based on your newbie comment) that might be a bit much to ask of you.

However, I do applaud your work in document authoring and in trying to institute digital signatures in your work environment.

Steve

• 2. Re: How to use javascript to auto fill a signature