2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 27, 2011 5:28 AM by -KRAFTWERK-

Flex and Catalyst working together

Sean S Murphy Level 1

I really like the idea of catalyst, split the work between designers and developers, let each of them do what they do best. I am a developer, and I've been responsible for the last few months to work with a few designers and create a RIA in flex 4. We used Flash Builder and Catalyst and Illustrator. Overall we really enjoyed the experience, the designers did a really good job, gave us their work in illustrator. One of our programmers who had some design sense put the project into catalyst, and in a short time had some pretty good looking stuff, and then we all went to town programming the app.

The problem that I saw with the whole Idea, and one of the biggest problems we faced was that the design of the application didn't stop when the designers gave us their work. In fact, I'm going to have to say that rarely if ever, is that the case. There needs to be some way that the design and programming can truely be done at the same time. It seems like catalyst can only output two types of files, a fxp and a fxpl. It can only open fxp, illustrator and photoshop files. Flash builder can only import fxp and fxpl files, but when it exports a fxp project, it is can't be opened by catalyst. This creates a one way workflow, things come out of catalyst, and into flash builder. So whenever something changed in the design, we'd have to go through a painful process of importing a new project or library, painstakingly parsing through it to find the changes, and then pulling those out of the new project and putting them into our old project (or visa versa). This pain seems to be slightly eased through the use of library projects, but still, it wasn't great.