9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2010 3:28 PM by Ansury

HTML 5

DanFCarr Level 1

Hello. I am an Illustrator/Animator with basic Actionscript, HTML, and CSS skills. I build graphics for online courses. For years I have used Flash to build animations with simple interactivity. My new co-workers do not like Flash. They tell me that many mobile devices do not support Flash, and since students increasingly access content on mobile devices, we should stop using Flash. They tell me that it can all be done with HTML 5.

Using Flash, I am able to use vector art, bitmaps, video, etc. to build pretty much any interactive animation, and make it look exactly the way I want, with relative ease. I do not think that building these objects will be nearly as simple in HTML 5.

Anyone in the same situation? I would like to know your thoughts. Are you worried that Flash will fade away? What do you plan to use instead?

• 1. Re: HTML 5
          waterdad568 Level 3

Your co-workers it seems have not done their homework. Adobe Flash Player Lite is specific to mobile devices, similar to a browser plugin or addon (that users have to dl to browser now btw) the user simply dl's flash lite and can certainly view swf content. Flash CS5 will also be able to produce and output directly for iPhone apps, and other desktop and mobile apps can be accomplished with Adobe Air. Mobile device Manf's are already developing rendering for many graphical apps currently used, and will only become more powerful, not less. Look at the iPad for example.