3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2010 8:33 AM by John T Smith

Problem Importing the entire file

aghotbi777

I'm new to Premiere so please be easy on me.

I'm not trying to do something difficult and for some reason I think I'm missing a step here.

I've been converting raw .avi video taken from my camera and encoding it using premiere to adobe media encoder.

These are my steps:

1) Capture AVI through my external media capture device (ATI TV wonder 650) and save to desktop
      2) Import avi into premiere (no issues here)

3) Tweak various settings for the .mp4 export (i.e. audio to mono, Gaussian Blur - which is important to me and the only reason I use premiere)

4) Export to Media Encoder

5) Enjoy...

I've done about 10 videos already with NO issues what so ever.   I've now tried some larger files..varying anywhere from 5-20 minutes long.  These files are rather larger...some are a few gigs, others are about 15 gigs. 

My problem is...when I import it into premiere..it only shows the first 40 seconds or so...and when I export it..only the first 40 seconds.    It's really strange as the avi plays just fine with all other media players...and other media conversion tools read it just fine as well..the entire length of the video (I just really like the effect I get when Premiere exports it)...    Is there a setting somewhere where I can lengthen the clip length?

I also tried a work around by starting just Adobe Media Encoder by itself, dragging and dropping the file in there...same effect...first 40 seconds converts fine...nothing after that.

PLEASE Help.   I'm running a trial version of Premiere 4.0.0    I thought it might be because it was a "Trial" version, but nowhere does it state that the trial version limits the length of the video.   Please help.

Ali

• 1. Re: Problem Importing the entire file
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Ali,