28 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2010 5:09 AM by Fighting Sticks

cs3 files don't open in cs4 - complaint for office of fair trading AUS

Fighting Sticks Level 2

Hi guys,

I'm an editor from Australia.  I use Adobe products.  Recently I have worked on a project with CS3 Premiere Pro (CS3 Production Premium).  I upgraded to CS4 Production Premium to take advantage of the new 3D modelling toolsets not available in CS3.  Prior to purchse I rang Adobe Technical Support and was informed that I would be able to open and use my sc3 project in cs4.  The website also indicates that cs3 is compatible for the cs4 upgrade.  Based on this I purchased the cs4 upgrade to discover that in fact I am unable to recover my cs3 project in cs4, contrary to the advise I was given by Adobe.  Granted I can open my cs3 file but the timing of the clip sequences are out, rendering the project untenable.  I have taken these concerns and complained to Adobe, I await their response.  I  purchased this product based upon the information provided to me by Adobe.  They assured me their product could do something which it can not:- allow me to open my cs3 project for editing in cs4, which it can not.