8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2010 8:43 AM by brightbelt

Frontpage Sites into Dreamweaver CS4

Dr Dimento

OK I am a newbie to both Mac and Adobe Dreamweaver CS4 on a MacBook Pro and I do not have the option of running Frontpage under Parellels as I have tried it about 20x and Frontpage cannot see my Frontpage files on my Mac .psf network solution . . . so . . . I have to learn DW in one days time; but first, I have to get Frontpage sites into DW.  BTW, have no sympathy for me, I do stupid things like this all the time, it's how I became an expert at Avid Liquid and how I'm doing the same on Final Cut Pro and will probably do on Premier Pro CS4.  Learn by "doing."  However, please be gentle, I'm a novice at Mac.

Anyone tell me how to get Frontpage sites into Dreamweaver CS4?  Also, is DW CS4 version 8?  MX?  Or do none of these versions apply?

Thanks in advance to all who respond.

• 1. Re: Frontpage Sites into Dreamweaver CS4
          brightbelt Level 1

I actually have some experience in this area. Firstly, welcome to Mac. You'll love it.

It will make a difference which version of Frontpage you're talking about -- because depending upon that, you could have dynamic templates or not or other things like shared borders, which I'm sure you're familiar with from older versions of Frontpage.

I'll share here some of what I know in case it might help.  First to get your site into DW CS4, your answer might be in the 'Site' menu - 'Manage Sites' -> Import.

Here's what I know from my own experience about what can happen when importing from Frontpage:

-Frontpage "Shared Borders" (at least back in the DW MX period and I doubt that it's changed) are Not recognized by DW, so caution on that.

-Any Dynamic Templates in FP should carry over just fine.

- Form Data processing set up in Frontpage will not carry over. You should still have your form objects in your Html okay but none of the processing carries over since that is FP code.