3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2010 12:11 PM by the_wine_snob

Issues Burning a DVD....Transcoding Error

Drury749

I'm new to using Elements 8 and I'm having an issue burning to a DVD. The process starts, gets to 18% and I get a "Transcoding Error". I have a combination of still photos (jpeg, gif) and video clips (mp4, wmv) and music (mp3, m4a). I have an Intel Dual 2.2 GHz processor, with Nvidia GEForce GT240 video card and plenty of disk space (861GB free). Is it my media? Is it my computer? Is it me?

• 1. Re: Issues Burning a DVD....Transcoding Error
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Lets take things one step at a time.

What is the Project Preset, that you chose, when you did New Project?

Now, we'll look at your Assets:

Can you tell us the size in pixels x pixels for your still images, and their format, i.e. JPEG?

With your Video Assets, please make a list of their specs - one set of specs for each file type/format. The free utility, G-Spot, can get that info for you. Be sure to note the Frame Size, and especially the CODEC used for each, plus their Audio data.

Last, take a good, close look at your Timeline at about the 36% of total Duration point. What Clips appear in that general area? Zoom in onto your Timeline (to the Frame view level), and look very closely for any gaps in the Video Track (gaps in the Audio Track are OK). You might want to post a screen-cap of the Timeline at approximately that point. It would be helpful to include the Project Panel, scrolled to the Assets at that point.

Note, MP3 Audio files can be highly problematic. I always convert any of these to PCM/WAV. The free audio-editor, Audacity, is very useful for doing this, and the good news is "it's free!"