6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2010 2:33 PM by Stickman65

editing palette index for 256 color bitmap at runtime?

Stickman65

Hi all.

I'm a director newbie starting work on what i think will be a very simple project, but i need to do a specific non-newbie thing.  I'm hoping that someone with knowledge of Director can quickly point me in the right direction and save me a ton of frustration.

I'm working with 256 color bitmaps, doing a kind of paint-by-numbers thing, and want to change the entries in a bitmaps palette index on the fly.  When the user clicks on bitmapA, the pixels color is read from the palette index and stored.  When bitmapB is clicked, that palette index value corresponding to that pixel is changed to the stored color.

Can director do this?  should i be looking into lingo, or java script?  I'm in a position where I don't know what i don't know.  I'm looking for someone to tell me what to go learn about to be able to do this.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions!

• 1. Re: editing palette index for 256 color bitmap at runtime?
          James Newton, ACP Level 3

I'm not sure that I understand what BitmapA and BitmapB represent.  Since you mention painting by numbers, I imagine that you have an image with outlines and white spaces, and that the user is to fill the white spaces with the appropriate colour.  I also imagine that the colours available for a given image are stored somewhere, possibly in a bitmap which looks like an artist's palette of colours.

With the getPixel() method, you can retrieve the colour in an image at a given point.  With the mapStageToMember() method you can convert a point on the Stage to a point in the bitmap image that the user is clicking on.  With the undocumented floodFill() method, you can fill an area in an image with a given colour.

You might like to look at Imaging Lingo in general.  You can find beginner articles here and here.