9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2010 11:13 AM by savladai

Creating a page from a template

savladai

I'm new to DW and this forum but have been using GoLive for years - all the way back to PageMill!! :>) I don't remember when I started using templates but I've been doing so for years as well. However, DW has me bamboozled.

I built a page with head section, footer and main body copy, saved it as a normal html page, then opened it back up and did a Save As to a .dwt file. I selected the main body content (including its <div> tags) and did the Insert Editable Region step. The resulting code in the template is:

<head>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

<meta name="robots" content="index, all, follow" />

<meta name="copyright" content="Website design copyright Savladai Enterprises 2010." />

<meta name="keywords" content="dog show supplies, pet supplies, dog dishes, dog crates, obedience dumbbells, pet accessories, dog bowls, dog trainers, professional dog handlers, pet products, dogs, pets"

<!-- TemplateBeginEditable name="doctitle" -->

<title>Pridmores Pet Supplies</title>

<!-- TemplateEndEditable -->

<link href="../pridmore.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

<!-- TemplateBeginEditable name="head" -->

</head>

<body>

<div id="container">

<div id="header">

<h1> Pridmores.com</h1>

<h3> Your Place To Shop For Pet Supplies</h3>

<!-- end #header --></div>

<!-- TemplateBeginEditable name="MainBody" --> etc.

Right off the bat I question why the TemplateBeginEditable name=head area starts at the end of the head section instead of at the very beginning but that's the least of my worries.

My problem arises (or probably more accurately gets worse) when I go New>from Template. Without touching a thing, just viewing the source code, this is what I see:

<head>

<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

<meta name="robots" content="index, all, follow" />