16 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2010 7:03 AM by the_wine_snob

Title Animation

kenorrha18

Hi, I'm new to Premiere Elements, having just bought Version 8. Can anyone please help me with a couple of issues? I would like to import Text as overlay over a slide & then animate it, instead of creating the text in the titler. I can easily place the overlay, but cannot find how to animate. Secondly, if I have to use the titler and use the crawl option, how can i stop the crawl for a couple of seconds & then start it again?

• 1. Re: Title Animation
          the_wine_snob Level 9

I do this from Photoshop, and save my Title as a .PSD. This is then Imported into Pre, and place on a higher Video Track.

Now, for animation, you will want to look at Keyframes, and using them for the fixed Effects>Motion>Position, and possibly Motion>Scale. Note: you can also animate other Effects, like Blur, along with the fixed Effects. This is how I do most of my Titles.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Title Animation
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Here is a look at a "hold" in a Roll that starts off-screen below, and finishes off-screen above. This is from PrPro 2.0, as it is actually closer to PrE 7 & 8, than the example from my PrE 4 is. Things will be slightly different for you, but very similar:

Motion_Keyframes_01.jpg

Hope that this helps,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Title Animation
              kenorrha18 Level 1

Thank you very much, Mr. Hunt, you saved my sanity. As I'm new to Premiere Elements & to the Forum, I don't know how many questions I can ask?