5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2010 7:14 AM by Ned Murphy

MovieClip / Browser Alignment

JOliver77

Hello,

I'm still learning Flash and cant write AS from scratch yet, so am therefore at the stage where I'm finding pieces of AS online, and then trying to use / edit them as I need.

I've got the following piece of AS that aligns a movie clip to the right hand side of the browser, and keep it there when the browser is resized.  It works perfectly.

I'm trying to update this code to make a movieClip alight to the bottom of the browser (not the right side), but its a bit beyond me.  Can anyone help?

// ***Stage aligned top left

Stage.align = "TL";

// *** Stop the stage from scaling with the browser window.

Stage.scaleMode = "noScale";

stop ();

// initiate postitions and scaling values for objects

bottomstretch._height = Stage.height;

rightstretch._height = Stage.height;

topstretch._width = Stage.width;

rightstretch._x=200;

topmenu_mc._x = Stage.width - topmenu_mc._width

// end initial position setting

//create a listner that checks to see if the browser window is resized

sizeListener = new Object();

sizeListener.onResize = function() {

// change movieclip properties when the window is resized.

topstretch._width = Stage.width;

bottomstretch._height = Stage.height;

rightstretch._height = Stage.height;

//*note* 200 is the width of the left column

topmenu_mc._x = Stage.width - topmenu_mc._width

};

Stage.addListener(sizeListener);

• 1. Re: MovieClip / Browser Alignment
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

In this case you want to utilize the Stage.height minus the object height to determine its _y location, assuming the vertical registration of the object is at its top.

• 2. Re: MovieClip / Browser Alignment
            JOliver77 Level 1

Hi, thanks for the response.  Apologies if I'm being a little slow but Im not totally understanding what your saying.  Could you be a little clearer?

• 3. Re: MovieClip / Browser Alignment