9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2015 5:54 AM by slatchley2

Drawing a Target

Harry184297 Level 1

I appreciate that this is probably a pathetically simple task but Im completely new to Illustrator and its driving me nuts! Im trying to draw an image of a black and white Target. What is the easiest way to do this? I have been drawing a series of black circles using the Elipse Tool (with a stroke but no fill) and leaving a gap to suggest the white areas. But I can't work out how to make the spacing regular so that the black and white 'lines' in the symbol are all the same thickness and perfectly centred.

• 1. Re: Drawing a Target
          Jacob Bugge MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Harry,

It sounds like concentric circles with Stroke Weights equalling the difference in size between neighbouring circles.

You may:

1) Create a circle with the largest/smallest size and set the Stroke Weight to the desired difference in size between neighbouring circles;

2) Copy and Paste in Front (or back) and change the size to the other extreme (a number of times the Stroke Weight);

3) Object>Blend>Options, set the number of steps to the number of intermediate circles, Object>Blend>Make, and Object>Blend>Expand and ungroup if desired.

Or you may start with one circle as in 1) and then Copy and Paste in Front and increase the size by the Stroke Weight (you can do that through the Transform palette/panel by adding it to (or subtracting it from) the W or H value and pressing Ctrl/Cmd Enter, just add + (or -) at the end in the box and then the amount; this may be repeated till you have enough.

• 2. Re: Drawing a Target
            ecole7

I would draw the circles using the elipse tool: click on the tool, click on the document, enter the size circle you want (let's say 3 inches)

Then do the same thing over with equal increments (let's say 1/2 inch)

So you'll draw circles that are 3 inch, 2.5 inch, 2 inch, 1.5 inch, 1 inch, and .5 inch