6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2010 10:00 AM by Kokopelli76

How to make buttons work in drop down movieclip in flash???

Kokopelli76 Level 1

I am trying to make an index page with buttons for a photography site.  the entire page is built in flash so far.  My question is that I have created a drop down menu that is a Movieclip with 5 buttons.  I can not seem to assign an external web page to each buttons that are under the movie clip drop down menu.   Is this a possible??   The Movie clip is run by mouse-over the word "studio Gallery" button.  This drops down the 5 gallerbuttons (Portrait, children, wedding, Artistic Babies, etc...).  In Flash 8 Pro I know I can assign an external web page named children on the main page but how do I assign these to the buttons in the drop down once the movieclip is made.  Is this where I need to use folders with extra layers in the folder to make it work??

In case you can not tell I am new to this and have been teaching my self with "Training from the Source" and also "Visual Quickstart Guide"  so go easy on me  8-)

Randy

• 1. Re: How to make buttons work in drop down movieclip in flash???
          waterdad568 Level 3

In AS3, you create event Listeners, and URLRequest functions assigned to your button instance names, if they are mc's create invisible buttons over them, and code to the instance names the same ex:

myBtn1.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, btn1Handler);

function btn1Handler (event:MouseEvent):void

{

navigateToURL (new URLRequest("http://.....");

}

• 2. Re: How to make buttons work in drop down movieclip in flash???
            Kokopelli76 Level 1

waterdad568,

Flash  Professional version 8 does not come with AS3 or at least mine

doesnt.  Is there a work around???  Or will this work in versions 1 & 2?

Thanks,

Randy

• 3. Re: How to make buttons work in drop down movieclip in flash???
              waterdad568 Level 3

In AS2 something like:

myBtn.onRelease = function() {

getURL("http://,,,,")

};