29 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2010 1:52 AM by xrayhead

Encoding Help Please...

ReductiMat

Hi there,

I'm still very new to video editing, so I'm not entirely sure how to even ask the question.  Given two the two frame captures below:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4045/4370761542_3a636a3e20.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2690/4370864740_1b55d02267.jpg

The first capture is from the source camera output (helmet cam, 720p59.96), the second is one of dozens of AE options I've tried.

I've tried a ton of output options (720p60, 720p59.94, etc.etc.), but it seems I really need to find a way to output 720p59.96.  Am I correct?  Is there a way for me to get the sharpness of the original after editing?

Thanks for any tips you can provide.

• 1. Re: Encoding Help Please...
          Curt Wrigley Level 4

Your helmetcam really shoots 60 full frames per second?

Can you post a few seconds of your source footage?

• 2. Re: Encoding Help Please...
            ReductiMat Level 1

Hi Curt,

Yep it does, it's the ContourHD 1080P version: http://www.vholdr.com/contourhd/features

I just put a tiny sample clip on Vimeo:

http://www.vimeo.com/9580172

Hopefully you can download the source.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Encoding Help Please...
              Curt Wrigley Level 4

Thanks.  I was able to download your sample.

I see; your cam performs this "trick" of 60P by lowering resolution to 720P.

So; my first suggestion is to make sure your sequence is set to match your footage.  Can you advice how you setup your sequence?

Then; How do you want to export it?  To what format?   Ill see if I can dup your problem with the test footage.

• 4. Re: Encoding Help Please...
                Curt Wrigley Level 4

Assuming you wanted to export back to the same format (h.264) I did a test export with the appropriate settings.  I used a slightly lower data rate than your original to make the file a bit smaller.

Does it look ok?

http://www.vimeo.com/9581679

1 person found this helpful