23 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2010 11:37 AM by the_wine_snob

Inexpensive camcorder/pocket camcorder for Premiere Elements 8

jdwright77

Hi all,

I'm a teacher in a middle school and recently came into a chunk of money for my computer lab. I plan to buy 16 copies of Premiere Elements 8 Academic (I assume it'll behave exactly like the retail) and a number of video cameras for student use.

My initial thought was to order 16 flip mino cameras for ease of use and inexpensive price, but after a bit of research, I have discovered that they don't play nice with Premiere.

So, I bring my question here. I am searching for a camera similar to the Flip (or slightly more exotic if absolutely necessary) for students to use with Premiere Elements 8. It should not use tape, since we simply don't have time to capture in that manner, and the video files it creates should be directly compatible with Premiere.

Maybe it's a pipedream, but it seems like there should be something out there...

Thanks in advance for the help! =)

Justin

• 2. Re: Inexpensive camcorder/pocket camcorder for Premiere Elements 8
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Justin,

John's suggestion for the forum to get answers is the correct one. There will be more comments that will apply to PrE 8.

I do have to add that both the Flip and the Kodak have issues with PrE 8. Or should I say, PrE has issues with their formats/CODEC's. Not sure of which inexpensive camera would be better suited, but others there will have some ideas.

I would also post to Muvipix (to the Community), as there are tons of users, with different experiences, and they'd love to share their observations, successes and tribulations. That community also uses some other NLE programs, so you might get other options there too.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 3. Re: Inexpensive camcorder/pocket camcorder for Premiere Elements 8
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP