7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2010 7:29 AM by jchunick

Password Protect Part of a Director Movie

richbell20

Hi,

I've recently purchased INM Impressario and i've added a bunch of PDFS to my director movie.

I'll be handing this movie out to my students, but i would like only certain students to view certain pdf files.

Is there a way i can either password protect the pdf sprite, or would it be easier to go to another frame on button click, whereby the user has to enter a password, and if the password is correct they will be taken to the frame that contains the pdf file.

appreciate any advice. I have never used Lingo before and this is most likely where it will be heading....

many thanks,

Richard.

• 1. Re: Password Protect Part of a Director Movie
          Mike Blaustein Level 4

It would probably be better to password protect the pdf files themselves.  Otherwise, the students could just ignore your whole Director movie and open the pdfs straight from Explorer/Finder.  In the Impressario docs, it explains how to open a password protected pdf.  So you would just have Director open the PDFs with the password if the student should see that file, and not open it if they should not.

• 2. Re: Password Protect Part of a Director Movie
            richbell20 Level 1

Hi, thanks for the swift response.

I probabaly didn't make myself clear enough in the original question, so apologies for that.

I'm aware that they could access the pdf files via explorer, which is why ive password protected every pdf. I have 3 courses on a single director movie - some students will only be required to view 2 courses, and not the 3rd. I could create 2 separate director movies and burn them to cd's, but for simplicity and cost i want to have everything on a single disk but restrict access.