5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2015 4:08 AM by MurraySummers

for beginner, better to start from scratch or template? help please

Clinton Mickle Level 1

so I have been learning dreamweaver cs4 and fireworks etc. for a couple months now watching tutorials from lynda.com and stuff. I am building a site (or trying to) to sell blenders online. Progress seems slow, would you guys recommend using those templates you can get for free or pay for? if so, is it worth paying for one? thanks!

• 1. Re: for beginner, better to start from scratch or template? help please
          brightbelt Level 1

Hi, I have some experience building an e-commerce site as a beginner, but it's not clear whether that's your actual goal or not from what you'e said.

Even for building a regular site without e-commerce (by e-commerce, I mean having a shopping cart and taking credit card orders online through your site etc), things always start for me as if in a fog - and slowly over time the fog clears and I can see what's going on. So hang in there.

Either way, I would recommend using a template but this means different things, depending.  In Dreamweaver you have CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) templates available from which to choose that are a good place to start. I just recently used one in order to change my site into CSS and leave using tables behind.

As a beginner, it would do you well to begin learning construction of websites using CSS right upfront. That would be a huge advantage for you. In DW, at your start Panel under the 'Create New' column, go down to the bottom and click the 'More' Folder. That will take you to all the templates available. There, choose 'Blank Template' and 'Html' and then a specific template.

I would choose a template that is 'Fixed', meaning that the width of the construction is specifically set in pixels, like '2 Column Fixed With Left Sidebar'.

I've heard it said that fixed CSS templates (vs liquid etc) are easier for beginners to work with.