4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2010 7:12 AM by James Newton, ACP

Director 11.5 - Tidying Work

Charlotte.Heale

I am currently working on a University project which involves using Director to create an application with a music basis.

I’ve never used Director before but am aware of basics. I just need a small question answering.

The application is going to consist of 4 different mini games. With my current knowledge of Director I only know how to do this in one score window which would surely mean that each of the 4 games would be spread drastically across one score sheet. I’d end up with 1000’s of frames. And I find when I do this and apply go to X Frame on my main screen button to get to say the third game 500 frames in, it slowly works its way over there rather than jumping directly to the frame.

I hope that makes sense.

Do you have any ideas how I could make my work tidier and resolve the problem I have mentioned? Feedback as soon as possible would be great appreciated.

(Also, if anyone knows how to create a random loop of ‘questions’/frames and create a correct answer counter I would appreciate that information also.’

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Director 11.5 - Tidying Work
          James Newton, ACP Level 3

You can create a separate Director movie for each of your games, and then use...

go movie "NameOfGame"

... to jump to the first frame in the NameOfGame.dir movie.  You don't need to include the ".dir" extension.  Director is clever enough to look for a file with the right extension.

• 2. Re: Director 11.5 - Tidying Work

Charlotte.Heale wrote:

how to create a random loop of ‘questions’/frames and create a correct answer counter...?

There have been a couple of recent questions on the theme of showing random screens: Creating A Random Button and how to make multiple choice with random question.