6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2010 7:21 AM by arh0604

Won't recognize css as css, mac os 10.6, cs4

arh0604

Dreamweaver will not recognize css sheets as css.  When I look at files in the finder, they show up with the css icon; however, looking at the same files in the files panel in Dreamweaver shows them with a different icon, similar to html pages.  When I update a template, the other files lose the css that is linked.  In at least one case, I got the "file not found on the server" pop-up.  This is especially confusing for me, since this is my local file (stored on my hard drive).

I installed XAMPP yesterday, did a little to the configurations, and then abruptly deleted it.  Could this have anything to do with it?

I am a teacher and my students use the site everyday.  I need your help!

I am on a MAC with Snow Leopard and I'm using the CS4 Master Suite Trial (software being shipped).

• 1. Re: Won't recognize css as css, mac os 10.6, cs4
          mhollis55 Level 4

I'm wondering if the "new and improved" file creator standard for Snow Leopard has messed you up here, though I'm thinking your installation of XAMPP may have helped a little.

Under Apple's System Software and their OS X operating systems up to Snow Leopard, file creator and "application to open with" information was stored in a file's "resource fork." In order to be more Unix-ey or, perhaps, just to mess us all up, Apple has done away with the OS hooks to the resource fork and is merely using the file extension.

Try using "Get Info" to redefine the file (on the OS level) as something to be opened by Dreamweaver.

Another workaround is to open the file in a text editor by dragging and dropping it into TextEdit, then opening Dreamweaver, creating a new file (CSS) and then doing a cut and paste of the code from the text file into Dreamweaver. Do a Save As and then reattach the style sheet.

That's a PITA, but it should get you there.

• 2. Re: Won't recognize css as css, mac os 10.6, cs4