7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 24, 2010 6:36 PM by chubby1944

Video clip file size

chubby1944 Level 1

Hi,

I want to start by saying that I am brand new to the Premiere Pro CS4 program and I am working on my very first project.  I am making a documentary/movie about my grandfather.

I have a 2 hour video interview that I converted to an .avi file and want to use just parts of it.  If I add the video into my "assets" and just use assorted clips or segments of that video here and there, does EACH one of those clips make up the completed file size or am I essentially inserting the WHOLE two hours EACH time I put in a 10-second clip of him.

It's because I am brand new to this that I am struggling with "completed file sizes" vs what's in my assets folder.

Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Mike

• 1. Re: Video clip file size
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Short answer, no.

Only references to the original clip are stored for each instance of the clip and that is negligible.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Video clip file size
            chubby1944 Level 1

Thank you very much for that super fast response.

• 3. Re: Video clip file size
              shooternz Level 6

What did you convert to avi from?

• 4. Re: Video clip file size
                the_wine_snob Level 9

Because you are new to the program, I'll throw in a bit more, regarding what Harm said.