6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2010 2:49 PM by Todd_Kopriva

Newbie question - Simple way to edit and export?

barts5 Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to After Effects.  Basically what I am hoping to do is take a .MOV file from my Canon 7D and adjust things like exposure, shadow/highlight, saturation, etc and then export the altered file back into a .MOV file (or other format of similar file size) that I can then edit into a very simple movie in Pinnacle Studio or Windows Movie Maker.

I tried aditing one clip and rendering it but the 100MB file turned into a 4GB file!!

If anyone can help me with a simple workflow and settings I would really appreciate it.

Thanks very much!

Glenn

• 1. Re: Newbie question - Simple way to edit and export?
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

The default settings for QuickTime movies rendered and exported from After Effects use the Animation codec with quality settings at 100%. These are big files, but they are also losslessly compressed.

If you were creating movies for final distribution and delivery from After Effects, I'd tell you about compression/encoding for highly efficient (i.e., small) files. But you said that you were going to use the output from After Effects in other software, so...

One thing to keep in mind about post-production software is that you want to only use uncompressed or losslessly compressed files at every stage of the workflow until final delivery. Otherwise, each step degrades the image. So, you are going to be passing big files around. But they don't have to be quite so big as you're getting.

Another lossless encoding scheme (codec) that you can use inside a QuickTime container is PNG. When you choose QuickTime from the Format menu in the Output Module Settings dialog box, click the Format Options button and choose PNG as the Compression Type. Data encoded with the PNG codec inside a QuickTime container takes up about half as much space as data encoded using Animation.