12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2010 1:48 PM by the_wine_snob

Best way to work with large image sequences

NIkkiGD

Hello,

Im relatively new to Adobe CS4. I am learning to create detailed animations with another software that produces thousands of still images. (I normally save them as  .png, 720 x 480, 29.97 fps) I spent the money to buy CS4 becuase I was told this was what I needed to turn those images into video, add titles, captions, credits, etc. So far, I've been useing PremierPro to import the image sequences and add titles. But when I export the sequences, the quality is crap. I've tried all combinations of exporting formats, but even when I try to go for the greatest quality, my files are 100 MB large, and the quality is still crap (nice smooth lines are jagged, and details are blurry and pixilated, even with the titles I added). Can someone tell me how I should be working with these still image sequences so that I can retain the best quality while keeping the file size large. These videos are just played on local computer systems, not over a network or on DVDs. I dont know if I should be bringing the shorter clip sequences into AfterEffects and somehow exporting those. I just dont know. But nothing is working for me. Help!

Nikki

• 1. Re: Best way to work with large image sequences
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

Let's step back to the beginning. What is the intended output, as far a Frame Size, etc.? Will you be delivering an AV file, for playback on a computer, and no other delivery format/scheme?

Given that you are working with still images, which you can size as is required, you can set up your Project/Sequence to match your intended Frame Size and then match your source materials to that. What Project/Sequence Preset did you choose? That can have a major effect on your output.

Starting at that beginning and gathering that info will help direct others to help you better.

Thanks for the input, and good luck,

Hunt