8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2007 9:26 AM by oneandonly_mohawke

Help with a  resource meter.

oneandonly_mohawke
      I have been creating a lot of live gauges and meters for a web based dashboard, most work great. I am now trying to create a Flash usage meter like the CPU meter in Windows task manager, but cannot seem to get it working. I am fairly new to Flash so I consider myself a newbie so I may be approaching this wrong. I have everything working, but I need the it to scroll right to keep a nice clean history.

basically what I have now is a movie clip (line) which I move to the right and draw a line to get the value. It works but when I get to the end and it starts back at 0 it is going over the history rather than shifting all lines to the left. This makes for a very cluttered and hard to read histogram. The whole thing is from 0 (left) to 120+ minutes (right) where the actual display area (img_mc) is 175 x 70px.

I have attached the code if anyone is willing to help or point me in the right direction with this.

Thank you!
        • 1. Re: Help with a  resource meter.
          FlashForumName
          You could use an interval. If you're storing the points in say, an array, you can just write over the old data as you no longer need to display it anymore and then tack on the new data. Each interval iteration, update your data in the array, then read the values from your array and just redraw.

This may cause the lines to disappear briefly on each redraw. If there are not a lot of points, you could instead create a new movieclip for each point and just move them as your interval updates. Destroying them once they reach the end of the viewing area and creating a new one each iteration for the start.
          • 2. Re: Help with a  resource meter.
            oneandonly_mohawke Level 1