4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2010 4:31 AM by pknight42

flash obsolete?

alexManuelSilva Level 1

Will flash become obsolete because of the iPhone and the iPad?

I love flash designed websites and love writing as3 code as well. Contrary to what most people say,I  don't find that it is only useful for music bands and restaurants. I am an artist and wouldn't imagine my website any way other then flash animated.

And, when people mention that Flash consumes too much cpu and over heats pcs are they referring to the streaming of flash (flv) video or just to regular flash animated websites?

• 1. Re: flash obsolete?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

for some users it's a problem with websites that contain flash, even just banners.

as3 especially, is problematic in the wrong hands.  and there are a lot of wrong hands out there.

• 2. Re: flash obsolete?
            Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are a number of anti-Flash web design folks out there citing things they feel are amiss with Flash--claiming its demise is not far off.  I do not think that i-anything will have an impact on the Flash world, but I do get a feeling that their resistance to adapt to supporting it will not work in their i-favor.

• 3. Re: flash obsolete?
              Harry Kunz Level 4