4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2010 9:03 AM by garek007

swap compositions

garek007 Level 1

Hi,

Maybe there's a way to do this that's really easy, but I'm fairly new to AE so for me I can't seem to figure it out.

Is there a way to 'swap' compositions? For instance, let's say I have a composition called features inside of a composition called main. I want to duplicate main which would create a new composition called main 2. I then want to go into main 2 and swap out features with a different composition (maybe features 2 or something like that).

That's one way to accomplish what I want to do. The other way would be to duplicate the composition called main and create a new composition called main 2. Then if all of the contents of main 2 could automatically be duplicated to create new compositions, that would also work.

I hope I am making sense...

Basically I have set up my composition main to for a single product (I'm in medical devices) and it has exactly the animation and timing that I want to use for ALL products. So I just need to duplicate the comps and swap, etc, etc so that I don't have to rekey the animation.

• 1. Re: swap compositions
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It sounds like you want to create a template that can be used for many products. Depending on the design of your project you could simply put all of the shared components in a single comp, then drag that into a new composition with your product footage. If you want to apply a set of animations designed in the master to layers (products) in another composition you should look into animation presets. I use both strategies all the time.

If you could screen capture the flow chart for your project I might be able to give you some better ideas. Just note (or name) the layers that you'll want to replace.

• 2. Re: swap compositions
            Chas Naylor Level 1