6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2010 11:48 AM by Rajackar_K

[cs4] ImporterProcessServer.exe taking 100% cpu during multi cam monitor

Rajackar_K Level 1

Hi There,

I'm relatively new to Premiere and have been loving it so far. I recently started to get an annoying problem though.

Whenever I start the multicam monitor for multi cam editing and press the play buttun the ImporterProcessServer.exe process starts taking up about 100% of the cpu and video starts to stutter. After a while the video freezes and audio keeps playing.

I'm on a dual core 3Ghz machine with 4 Gb ram running windows 7.

I reinstalled my machine recently and problems seem to have started afterwards.

Any help in resolving this would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: [cs4] ImporterProcessServer.exe taking 100% cpu during multi cam monitor
          Harm Millaard Level 7

You forgot to mention the most important issue here, what is your source material (codec) and what are your sequence settings?

If it happens to be AVCHD, the problem is very simple: Underpowered PC.

• 2. Re: [cs4] ImporterProcessServer.exe taking 100% cpu during multi cam monitor
            Rajackar_K Level 1

Thanks for the reply

I'm using material from different sources in different codec's. They are  MPEG Movie, avi, wmv and XDCAM.Sequence settings are pal 720 x 576.

I believe it has worked before and sometimes I get a minute or so of good performance before it all freezes again.

If the PC is indeed the problem would it help to scale down all source material to 720 x 576 before editting?

• 3. Re: [cs4] ImporterProcessServer.exe taking 100% cpu during multi cam monitor
              Harm Millaard Level 7

MPEG and AVI are just containers that can hold a variety of materials. What codecs? Use G-Spot to determine that and illustrate that with screenshots.

What are your PC specs? Especiallty disk I/O.

• 4. Re: [cs4] ImporterProcessServer.exe taking 100% cpu during multi cam monitor
                Rajackar_K Level 1