4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2010 7:09 PM by the_wine_snob

Problems with Premiere Pro CS4: First Use/Install

Dwight McCann Photography

I'm a photographer. I have a Canon 1D Mark IV which takes HD video. I bought Premiere Pro to edit the video. It installed without complaint. When invoked, it is VERY slow.  The first splash panel shows (purkle with "Pr") but the long rectangle at the bottom is white without content.  After a lot more time, the main window opens and then the little within window (with Open Project, New Project, Help), but it does not display that content but rather is transparent right back to my wallpaper (picture of my daughter.)  If I then grab the little window and drag it off-screen and back on then the correct content appears and I can click on an option. From that point on everything is very slow and after each click I must drag the entire window off screen and then on screen to see the updated content.  If I import a .mov file I can get it to play in the upper left panel (I am totally unfamiliar with Pr at this point and apologize for my poor knowledge of the nomenclature) including resetting to beginning, etc.  But if I attempt to import more content via the lower left panel, after each click of a directory choice I must slide the window off screen and back on to see the expanded choices.  This also goes for selecting the frame rates, codecs and almost anything else.  This is, of course, unusable.

I suspect that it is a video card issue.  I am running WinXP Pro on a two core DuoCore 3.33 mHz with 4GB RAM and two Gigabyte 8800 GT cards and a relatively recent driver from the nVidia website. I have a RAID 1 system disk, RAID 5 work disk and RAID 0 scratch disk with maybe 750GB free space. I run virus and malware protection as well as system maintenance software for defragmentation and registry mainenance, etc.  Most other Adobe products run well including PS, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, etc.