2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2010 6:18 PM by p_d_f

Luminance Intensity: A Basic Question

kitjv

I am a rookie in the field of color management. As a photographer, my ultimate goal is good print matching. But for now I need to calibrate & profile my new NEC P221W display "properly". As I understand (& please correct me if I am wrong), the "proper" display calibration will ultimately be determined by my actual prints.

For calibration, I am using the SpectraView II puck & software. The SV-II "Photo Editing" target uses the following values: white point = D65, gamma = 2.2 & intensity = 140 cd/m2. From what I have read, many veterans of color management recommend an intensity setting of 90 -100 cd/m2.

A couple of quick questions:

(1)  Is it reasonable to assume that NEC sets the intensity target of 140 cd/m2 based upon the characteristics of the NEC display?

(2)  Without being able to verify the effects on print matching ( I haven't purchased a suitable printer yet), what visible effects would lowering the           intensity have on the displayed image? For example, the display seems excessively bright.

Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: Luminance Intensity: A Basic Question
          John Danek Level 4

I agree with you in that your prints will determine if your monitor is properly profiled.  Your numbers look a little higher than what I would recommend.  I always get in hot water when I discuss what I use for numbers.  I am still using a LaCie Electron Blue IV, which is not anywhere near like your NEC.  However, i tend to use D50, gamma @ 1.8.  It may come down to some experimentation on your part.  If you had a dedicated output device for your prints, then you could calibrate everything.  As it is now, you'll have to get the prints back and see what it takes to get the monitor to match.  I've seen some luminance numbers recommended around 110 - 120.  Your current setup looks like defaults for video.

• 2. Re: Luminance Intensity: A Basic Question