7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2010 2:37 PM by Todd_Kopriva

File rendered in AE (is huge)

JordanNeil

Newbie here.

So I animated a still photo in AE CS4, the animated image is 4 seconds, and the file is over 2GB and the playback with Quicktime is horrid, my whole computer starts to freak out as well. (I'm on a MBP 4 GB RAM) What do I need to do in order for the file not to be so huge and actually usable?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: File rendered in AE (is huge)
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Usable for what? You have to be more specific. Different uses require different outputs and settings. there is no magic "one for all" formula.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: File rendered in AE (is huge)
            JordanNeil Level 1

Sorry, I plan on using a few still animations within a short 4 minute 1280 x 720 documentary that I will make in Premiere Pro. I've got the video edited but would like to use these animated stills.

Thanks.

• 3. Re: File rendered in AE (is huge)
              Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Mylenium is, as usual, correct.

I will try to answer your question without knowing the specifics.

The file you rendered is a lossless file. Meaning 0 compression. Ideal for sending files out of AE. That is what you should do. My friend Dave LaRonde at CreativeCOW.net explains why:

"Don't use AE to compress files for final delivery. The various compressors are there only to make quick 'n dirty files showing a project's progress to producers, clients, the kids, etc. AE is incapable of doing multipass encoding, a crucial feature that greatly improves the image quality of H.264 and MPEG-type files in particular.

Render a high-quality file from AE, and use a different application to do the compression. Popular ones are Adobe Media Encoder, Sorenson Squeeze and Apple's Compressor, which comes bundled with Final Cut Suite. Even compressing in Quicktime Pro is better than compressing in AE.