7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 10, 2010 9:11 AM by Harm Millaard

Best format for going between AE and Premiere Pro (CS4)?

ChrisBeaumontUK

Howdy

I'm a long time Final Cut Pro editor who's looking to learn the Adobe suite on Windows with an eye on potentially ditching the expensive macs for the more resonably priced PC world.

ANYWAY

I'm having a lot of trouble with file formats in my Windows adventures.  Where in FCP I had a seemingly huge range of codecs to choose from, I would simply decide what I wanted to work in (Apple ProRes for example), import footage into FCP, set my sequences to the same codec as my footage and off I went.  Similarly, taking footage out of After Effects was a doddle - 9 times out of 10 just choose the same format I'm working with in FCP, and the footage slots right in.

Now I come to PPCS4 and I'm a total newbie again when it comes to knowing about what codecs are best.  Basically, I want a file format and codec that I can import into and export out of both PP and AE easily without having to do any transcoding, and particularly so I don't see the dreaded yellow and red bars above the footage inside PP.

I've tried using Lossless out of After Effects, which is basically uncompressed AVI, but when I get the footage into PP it plays back very stuttery, presumably because it's such a high bitrate that the discs can't keep up.

I've tried doing everything as Photo JPEG Quicktime MOVs, but I get the yellow bars in PP, which is no good.

So what is the best format for editing full HD 1920x1080 progressive footage in Premiere Pro?

Any help in this area is much appreciated.